top of page

2016 Goals


November 9, 2015

Eight days ago, I ran the NYC marathon. This is the longest I have taken off after a marathon (no running and minimal exercise) and I have to admit, it hasn’t been that bad. I have been keeping myself busy with work, house projects, and traveling so I haven’t had much down time to think about running. I also am continuing to deal with the nagging pain in the butt, which reminds me daily that I am not ready to get back into running yet. I thought for sure it would have subsided by now but I guess not. I made an appointment with a (Orthopedic sports physician) in 2 weeks so if I am still having pain, I will for sure go see him and probably get a MRI to figure out what the heck is going on. Fingers crossed I will be able to cancel the appointment and get back into training soon. During my time off running, I have been able to reflect more on my race, begin to plan for future races, and (re-focus) my running goals. Below is a short recap of those thoughts. Enjoy!

First and foremost, I am beyond overwhelmed and grateful for the amount of love and support I have received from my friends and family after the race. Thank you again to everyone who helped me get to the start and finish line in NYC!! I’m one lucky lady to have such a great support team. Secondly, I am still on cloud nine about the amount of “special treatment” I had as a “sub-elite athlete.” From Jonni, the main organizer/coach of the sub-elite program to the group of girls and professionals that I met at the race, I will never forget any of you. Several of the sub-elite girls and myself are also hoping to re-connect at upcoming races (Boston and maybe a few others) so that we can continue to run together. The running community is truly is unique and special and I feel lucky to be part of this amazing group.

Lastly, even though I went into this race not feeling 100%, I am so thankful for God watching over myself, my family and the participants, volunteers, and the rest of the NYC community that day. Many have heard this story but I want t share it again because I believe it was a true showing of how God works in mysterious ways. In 2013, I was suppose to run the Boston marathon. This would have been my 4th consecutive Boston marathon. I love the Boston Marathon. It it is what I refer to as my “home course.” Leading up to this marathon in 2013, I had been training well, my travel plans set, hotel arrangements were made, and my family and I were ready to travel to Boston. About two months prior to that race, my right foot really began to bother me. I decided to go to the doctor at that time to see if I should continue to train and/or run the marathon. Tendonitis in the foot was the diagnosis I received and was told to I could run but just listen to my body and stop if needed. As I continued to try and push through the pain, my body continued to not feel healthy. About one week before Boston, the pain was even worse and I decided at that time to not travel to Boston in fear of DNF’ing and not running the race I had planned (sub-3:00 was my original goal). My family was very supportive and understanding and we decided to travel to Norris Lake, TN to get my mind off not racing. On Monday morning (race day), I woke up feeling frustrated about not racing. I also had a scary dream that night. I never have bad running dreams but this is one I will never forget. I dreamt that I was running and all of the sudden my legs broke (shattered more or less). I went through rehab and was told that I would never be able to run again. I woke up shortly after having this dream and immediately told my parents and Brett about it all. Around what would have been “race time,” we traveled back to Cleveland had had lunch at Great Lakes Brewing company upon our return. At the end of lunch, we began to receive phone calls, texts, and emails like crazy from friends and family asking “how are you?” “Are you safe?” (I had not told many people that I wasn’t running Boston this year since it was the week before that I decided not to compete). We were puzzled at first as to why they were asking these questions but within a short period of time, we heard the horrible news about the bombs in Boston. We were in shock and chills ran through us. We sat in silence for at least 5 minutes (felt longer) with so many mixed emotions. Sad, scared, confused, and so much more. Who knows where I would have finished that day and who knows where my family would have been to cheer me on at the finish. We will never know “what would have happened” but what I do know is that God was definitely watching over us that day. Since this experience, I have begun to really listen to my body and gut a lot more. During the final weeks leading up to NYC, as I was dealing with the nagging ‘pain in the butt,’ I started to do a lot of mental prep and praying (more than I usually do). I also found a running prayer online about running, that I read aloud everyday which seemed to help me stay calm and focused. Thank you God!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page